TELL THE WOLVES I’M HOME by Carol Rifka Brunt

TELL THE WOLVES I’M HOME by Carol Rifka Brunt, (c) 2013. This reading group book was bought at a thrift store for a mere dollar! I looked inside and it was a Margate City Public Library book taken out 11/05/2014, I even know who borrowed it. I could send it back I suppose. I looked them up and sent them a note! Margate is in New Jersey! How about that?

Well it looks like this book takes place in 1986 and deals with the new AIDS crisis, centering on fourteen year old June Elbus who along with her older sister Greta, sixteen, are having their portrait painted by their uncle Finn who is dying of AIDS. After Finn dies June notices a man at the funeral, and later she receives Uncle Finn’s Russian Teapot through the mail. Then she receives a note from a man named Toby who is also missing Finn. So I suppose she becomes friends with her uncle’s lover. It sounded like a heartwarming story. I’m only on page 14, but I do like this book!

NOTE: Did you notice no one ever talks about AIDS anymore? Please note that this book is kinda heartbreaking to read about death, and recovering from the death of a loved one with the Aids thing going on. It’s a cloudy overcast day and I feel like shedding a few tears now, but I’m half way done with the book, I wouldn’t have missed it for anything. I finished this book today! I read about 200 pages. I have a little eye strain now!

5 thoughts on “TELL THE WOLVES I’M HOME by Carol Rifka Brunt

Leave a Reply

