KRISTIN LAVRANSDATTER II- The Mistress of Husaby by Sigrid Undset

KRISTIN LAVRANSDATTER II; The Mistress of Husaby by Sigrid Undset, (c) 1978, but first translated and printed in 1921 under the title HUSFRUE, (Much like the German word Hausfrau meaning Housewife). I admit to reading this 3 part book collection at least 20 years ago! Mom had the boxed set. I really enjoyed the first two books, this one being the second one, but the last one has Kristin joining a convent as an older woman and I didn’t like that idea! I never did finish that book! This is the story of KRISTIN the daughter of LAVRAN who is just 19 and wedded to Erlend Nikulausson. She was pregnant by her husband before the marriage and is fully ashamed by the whole situation. People are just finding out now on page 50 or so. I didn’t want to read this book with it’s very tiny type but here I am really enjoying rereading about life in medieval Norway.

This book is written in the ‘Old” style, which might throw some people off, and find it bogging down their reading flow.. I’m not sure I will finish the book at this time after all I did read it 20 or 30 years ago. I may set it aside to read some library books I borrowed Friday.

3 thoughts on “KRISTIN LAVRANSDATTER II- The Mistress of Husaby by Sigrid Undset

Leave a Reply

