THE PASSION by Jeanette Winterson

THE PASSION by Jeanette Winterson, (1987).  This novel is about a “simple French soldier named Henri who follows Napoleon from the glory to Russian ruin.”, and also about Villanelle, the red haired, web-footed daughter of a Venetian boatman, whose husband had gambled away her heart.”  I’m only on page 7 and it seems little 120 pound Henri is working in Napoleon’s kitchen where he rings the necks of and most likely plucks and guts the chickens Napoleon seems to be obsessed with eating. He’s learning to be a cook and Napoleon has selected Henri to be his personal cook, to the old cook’s outrage.

NOTE: I’ll have to let you know what I think. If I like it, it won’t take me long to read it only has 160 pages.

NOTE: S0 little web-footed Villanelle is having a lesbian relationship in this story, and just got dumped by her. Then I got curious about the author. Turns our she comes from the UK and is also a lesbian (No surprise to me!). She is the partner of a woman named Susie Orbach, who wrote FAT IS A FEMINIST ISSUE and they recently married this year.  So does me being straight turn me off from reading about a gay relationship? Well not really but the subject matter (“Life during war times” in 1805 Venice–I know, I know it’s the name of a song! LOL) Well that turns me off a little. Well the next chapter is about our little friend Henri again. I’m half done with the book anyway.

2 thoughts on “THE PASSION by Jeanette Winterson

Leave a Reply

