What’s a Meme Anyway?

 I never knew what a Meme was until I started blogging in Worpress, so I had to go to my trusty Online Dictionary, here’s the definition:
Meme
[meem]
noun

1.

  1. a cultural item that is transmitted by repetition and replication in a manner analogous to the biological transmission of genes.
  2. a cultural item in the form of an image, video, phrase, etc., that is spread via the Internet and often altered in a creative or humorous way.
verb (used without object), memed, memeing or meming.

2.

to create and spread memes:

He spends a lot of time memeing and sharing his videos with friends.
verb (used with object), memed, memeing or meming.

3.

to make the subject of a meme:

cute cats that get memed.
NOTE: Heck, I was even pronouncing it wrong!! MEEM? Really? Ugh! I’m not much on MEEMs but I stumbled on one today, a “First sentence of the book meme.”, although I preferred the “Teaser” meme much better. I’ll have to reblog it for you. The blog author seems like such a nice organized woman.. unlike myself. I’m not always nice nor am I very organized.   ;  )
2 thoughts on “What’s a Meme Anyway?

  1. I’m too LAZY to actually reblog a weekly meme and actually participate! I’m not sure what the rules are, and I’m not good at following rules. But I don’t mind commenting on the same one every week.

Leave a Reply

