RAIN SONG by Alice J. Wisler

RAIN SONG by Alice J. Wisler, 2008. I bought this one at the flea market last Sunday.

Blurb:

This is the story of Nichole Michelin who avoids airplanes, motorcycles and most of all Japan where her parents worked as missionaries. Something happened to her mother in Japan, so Nichole and her father returned to America alone. Nichole remembers only bits and pieces of what happened in the past, but she is content with her cozy little life in Mount Olive, North Carolina, with her quirky relatives, a tank of lively fish and plenty of homemade pineapple chutney.

Meanwhile Nichole meets a young man named Harrison Michaels through her on-line column for the Pretty Fishy website. and much to her dismay Harrison lives in Japan and he is eager to meet her. She attempts to avoid him, but his e-mails tug at her heart.

Then Harrison reveals he knew her as a child in Japan and even seems to know more about her childhood than she does. It seems Nichole must face her fears and go to Japan and find out more about her childhood and meet this most interesting man.

Here’s the teaser:

“Since the death of my mother, Ducee has practically raised me. Although I lived with my father until I graduated from high school, during those years, my summers and school breaks were always spent at Ducee’s house. She knows I have a mole the shape of an apple on my lower back and that even at age thirty-one I continue to sleep with a cloth kimono doll.”

NOTE: I’m really enjoying this book, Although it has occasional Scripture quotes it’s not heavy on the Biblical jargon. 

Leave a Reply

