THE ROSIE PROJECT by Graeme Simsion *****

THE ROSIE PROJECT by Graeme Simsion, 2013, an Advanced Reader’s Edition. It says “THE COMPULSIVELY READABLE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER” at the top of the cover. I have never read such a book. Graeme Simsion is from Melbourne Australia of all places. I don’t usually read books written by people from England, with all their informal slangs and VERY formal utterances, and I was afraid I wouldn’t like it, since Australians are largly from the UK aren’t they? But what do I know? I’m an unworldly 55 year old white woman. On top of that I don’t read many books written by men.. (Isn’t that a shame?) But I find I like the rather quirky, GEEKY main character so far. His name is Don Tillman and he’s a Professor of Genetics, who has a brilliant scientific mind (and it’s hinted he’s got high functioning Asperger’s Syndrome with his ability to memorize things), but doesn’t get too far with the ladies, never has a second date.. he bombs out on them all, but he’s now on a quest to find the perfect partner. Then in walks Rosie Jarman a woman who is on a quest of her own looking for her biological father and she asks Don Tillman to help her. How can he help her? I have no idea, I haven’t met her character yet, I’m only on page 14. Rosie bombs out on Don’s Wife Project list of credentials, she’s the complete opposite of his requirements for a perfect partner, but he’s getting used to having her and her unpredictable ways.

NOTE: I’m really enjoying this book! It’s NOT like a typical British author’s book.. It’s much like how we talk here in the USA!

Leave a Reply

