THE HERETIC’S DAUGHTER by Kathleen Kent (2009)

THE HERETIC’S DAUGHTER by Kathleen Kent (2009). From the teacher’s lounge this book had a $1.00 sticker on it, so nice to see recycled reading. This book is a National Bestseller, but I knew nothing about it until my daughter gave it to me. This is the story of Sarah Carrier Chapman age 71, told in her own words to her granddaughter 60 years after the Salem Witch Trials. Her story starts out the year before the Salem Witch Trials when 9 year old Sarah moved with her family to Salem. Sarah’s mother Martha becomes one of the women accused of witchcraft, just one of more than 200 men, women and children who were taken to prison due to the hysteria and superstition. In an attempt to protect her children Martha asks Sarah to commit an at of heresy- a lie that will condemn Martha but save her daughter. I’ll report back later, although so far the book seems to flow along well, as it is told from 9 year old Sarah’s point of view.

NOTE: The above Find A Grave obit states that Sarah Carrier married a JOHNSON, and this obviously is incorrect, unless she was married twice and I found no evidence of that so far. What I find interesting is that I have the name Chapman in my family tree in relation to the Gardner family of which I am a descendant,

Leave a Reply

