THE RED GARDEN by Alice Hoffman

THE RED GARDEN by Alice Hoffman, (2011). This book has a whole cast of quirky characters. As it mentions on the inside book jacket: “It covers 300 years of passion, dark secrets, loyalty, and redemption in a web of tales where character’s lives are intertwined by fate and by their own actions.” The story starts out in 1750 Bearville, Massachusetts, which due to some fateful interweaving it was renamed Blackwell in 1786. Is there a real Blackwell, Massachusetts I have no idea, but my curiosity is peaked, I’ll let you know.. LOL. So far I’m into the second chapter and the main characters are all descendants of Hallie Brady an orphan from Birmingham, England, who ended up in America, I won’t reveal her early life in England.. you need to read it for yourself! I am enjoying this book very much, but then I am an ALICE HOFFMAN fan after all!

Leave a Reply

