EXTREMELY LOUD & INCREDIBLY CLOSE by Jonathan Saffran Foer

 

EXTREMELY LOUD & INCREDIBLY CLOSE by Jonathan Saffran Foer, (2005). This is Johnathan Foer’s second novel, I have never read any of his books before, although I watched the movie EVERYTHING IS ILLUMINATED on TV, which was quite quirky also about a Jewish boy who’s also searching for something. This is the story of Oskar Schell, a 9 year old who’s on an urgent secret mission that takes him through the five boroughs of New York. His goal is to find the lock that matches a mysterious key that belonged to his father, who died in the one of the Twin Towers on Sept. 11th. It’s supposed to be a hilarious and exhilarating journey that is healing for the boy. FOER is supposed to be some “New sort of literary warrior- a visionary, ingenious, hilarious, and heartbreaking.” according to Village Voice. Even Oprah Magazine recommends the book and I trust Oprah’s taste in books 80% of the time.. Well folks, I’ll have to let you know what I think. I enjoyed that quirky movie of his first book so I assume I’ll like this one.

NOTE: I must say I can see why anyone would get confused watching the movie now! The story goes from the present to the past, to Oskar’s grandfather’s life, and the grandmother’s life and his dead father’s life. The quirky characters are real unusual you know? But I’m going to read the whole book!

NOTE: Well I just finished the book this morning. It was a really good book you know? Unusual and quirky to be sure with the added photos and creative typing. Did it end the way I predicted? No, but that’s okay. It was mildly boring in some of the rambling chapters, but I do look forward to see how the movie follows the book.

2 thoughts on “EXTREMELY LOUD & INCREDIBLY CLOSE by Jonathan Saffran Foer

  1. I saw the movie and felt confused during some of it, but enjoyed the climax of it. However, I never finished the book. I haven’t picked it up in a long time, though, so maybe I’ll give it another try. 🙂

Leave a Reply

