THE AMERICAN REGIONAL COOKBOOK: Recipes from Yesterday and Today for the Modern Cook by Nancy and Author Hawkins

THE AMERICAN REGIONAL COOKBOOK: Recipes from Yesterday and Today for the Modern Cook by Nancy and Author Hawkins. I live in a very small town of not quite 1,000 people. Today the Food Pantry connected to the local Methodist Church arranged a “Food Lecture” and we were all given free used cookbooks. I was pleased with the one I chose. Imagine my surprise when I showed my mother who was sitting beside me a recipe for Rinktum Ditty. Turns out it’s a recipe my grandma- her mother used to make when mom was a child!  It’s an Americanized version of Welsh Rabbit (Rarebit)

RINKTUM DITTY

1 TB Butter

1 medium Onion chopped

2 Cups cooked tomatoes (Grandma used canned)

1 tsp Salt

1/4 tsp Pepper

2 tsp Sugar

1/2 LB American Cheese Grated (I’d use cheddar)

1 egg beaten

12 half slices buttered toast.

Cook onion in butter until soft but not browned. Add the tomatoes, seasonings and sugar.

Cook 2 minutes, then add the cheese and cook, stirring constantly, until thoroughly melted and blended.

Stir in the egg gradually, cook 1 minute longer and serve over buttered toast.

The recipe calls it an American version of Welsh Rabbit (Rarebit)

Leave a Reply

