THE BEANS OF EGYPT, MAINE by Carolyn Chute

The Bean's of Egypt, Maine2

THE BEANS OF EGYPT, MAINE a novel by Carolyn Chute, (copyright 1985) .  Why did I choose this book? Why by the cover of course. In fact the woman on the cover illustration looks a lot like the author. (Does that means it’s really about her?) But that is not the only reason I chose this book. Although I do want to say how important a book cover is, when it must convey what the author wants us to see about the characters and the story plot. I always read the blurb on the back of a book or on the inside cover to see if I can relate to the characters. Sometimes a very boring cover holds a great story, as they say, you shouldn’t judge a book by it’s cover, but that is what helps draw our eyes to it in the first place! The story is about Earlene Pomerleau who isn’t a Bean, but she and her quirky family drew my interest. It’s a book about poverty and survival. Earlene’s father says the Beans are “uncivilized animals.” I don’t know about you, but I think I’m going to like this book..

So far Earlene grows up smokes like a fiend and gets pregnant.. hmmm I ABHOR smoking!

NOTE! This is REALLY comical.. There’s a rather formal letter in the back of the book written by a REAL girl named Cynthia Bean who really lives or lived in Maine but was written from Bryn Mawr College to her girlfriend Ginny. Here’s what she says about this book THE BEANS OF EGYPT, MAINE:

“Dear Ginny,
Thanks so much for the loan of THE BEANS OF EGYPT, MAINE. I cannot honestly say that I enjoyed reading it but persevered and have finally finished it. I appreciate your contribution to my continuing education! Now I’ll return to EATS, SHOOTS AND LEAVES to improve my punctuation.”

So you see Cynthia didn’t like this book! But she MADE herself read it anyway! I can’t blame her.. the characters have loose morals..lots of.. illegal sex if you ask me.. kids running around unsupervised.. The stupid book fell apart last night.. the old glue just crumbled on my legs as I was reading in bed last night! A devoutly religious person would surely burn this book up.. or at least dump it in the trash! BY the way.. I stayed up until 12:15 AM reading this book and the ending sucked so much I threw it out myself! HA! LOL

Leave a Reply

